Unforgettable heroics in the Cricket World Cup

Written by WorldOfWorldcup.com

Clive Lloyd 

1975 - West Indies dominated with Clive Lloyd's captaincy 

SIR Vivian Richards  

1979 - Sir Vivian Richards' dominating century secured West Indies' title defense 

Kapil Dev   

1983 - Kapil Dev's inspiring all-round performance led India to historic victory 

Allan Border    

1987 - Allan Border's consistent leadership brought Australia their first World Cup win 

Imran Khan    

1992 - Imran Khan's all-round brilliance led Pakistan to a dramatic triumph 

Aravinda de Silva     

1996 - Aravinda de Silva's magical performance secured Sri Lanka's historic win 

Lance Klusener     

1999 - Lance Klusener's heroics almost took South Africa to the final 

Ricky Ponting      

2003 - Ricky Ponting's masterclass helped Australia clinch consecutive titles 


2007 - Malinga's hat-trick and Muralitharan's record highlighted Sri Lanka's prowess 

Yuvraj Singh      

2011 - Yuvraj Singh's inspirational journey earned him Player of the Tournament  

AB de Villiers      

2015- AB de Villiers set the record for the fastest century in ODI cricket   

Ben Stokes      

2015 - Ben Stokes' superhuman effort led England to their first World Cup triumph